German Government

If you plan to visit Berlin or any part of Germany, it would be good to at least have an idea about the basic workings of their government. Part of your quest as a traveler is to learn how different cultures around the world works, and visiting a new country is the perfect opportunity to do just that.

Quick Facts about the Germany Government

First, take a look at the following list of some quick facts about the Germany government:
– The type of government that Germany has is called a federal republic. The official or conventional long form of the country’s name is the Federal Republic of Germany.
– As you may already know, the capital of Germany is Berlin which is included as one of the 16 states. Berlin is also the city which has the largest area and one of the largest populations.
The following are the administrative divisions or the 16 states or Laender which comprise the country of Germany, as well as the governmental system:
1. Baden-Wuerttemberg
2. Bayern (Bavaria)
3. Berlin
4. Brandenburg
5. Bremen
6. Hamburg
7. Hessen
8. Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)
9. Niedersachsen (Lower Saxony)
10. Nordrhein-Westfalen (North Rhine-Westphalia)
11. Rheinland-Pfalz (Rhineland-Palatinate)
12. Saarland
13. Sachsen (Saxony)
14. Sachsen-Anhalt (Saxony-Anhalt)
15. Schleswig-Holstein
16. Thueringen (Thuringia)

The Independence & Constitution of the Germany Government
It was on January 18, 1871 that the German Empire was unified.  Prior to that, Germany was divided into four zones of occupation which includes the Allies comprising the United States, the United Kingdom, USSR and France.
In October 7, 1449 the German Democratic Republic of East Germany was proclaimed and it included the former zone of the USSR.  The unification of West and East Germany took place on October 3, 1990 and the Allies relinquished their rights on March 15, 1991.
Finally, the Basic Law was turned into the constitution of a now-united Germany and this occurred on May 23, 1949.
The Key People & Branches Comprising the Germany Government
As a federal republic, the government of Germany comprises of the executive branch, the legislative branch and the judicial branch. There are also political parties and leaders which play an important role in the government.
The executive branch is composed of the chief of state, the head of government and the cabinet members. Finally, the judicial branch is made up of the Federal Constitutional Court where half of the judges are elected by the Bundestag and the other half by the Bundesrat.
Today, the 16 states which make up the country of Germany has its own legislature, constitution and government which can pass laws on all matters except for defense, finance and foreign affairs – the rights of which belong to the federal government.